M. Florine Démosthène (née aux États-Unis, a grandi entre Port-au-Prince, Haïti et New York) dépeint dans ses œuvres, faites de multimédia et de collage, d'étranges caractéristiques dystopiques. L'ensemble de ses silhouettes envisage le corps de la femme noire, au-delà d'interprétations immédiates centrées sur la sensualité, comme une myriade d'expériences collectives.

 

Son œuvre situe chairs et formes dans des décors évanescents. L'impermanence de l'arrière-plan est encore renforcée par son utilisation du mylar, qui suggère des silhouettes translucides et flottantes. Ses surfaces étincelantes et figures semblant faites de marbre, souvent ornées d'accents aquatiques, nous attirent dans un espace fantasmagorique. Songe et réalité, rêve et cauchemar, possibilité et réalité s'entremêlent et plonge l'observateur dans une dimension complexe, presque de science-fiction.

 

M. Florine Démosthène a reçu une bourse de Tulsa Artist Fellowship, une autre de Arts Moves Africa et une de la Fondation Joan Mitchell. Ses œuvres sont exposées au Smithsonian National Museum of African Art (Washington D.C, E-U), à l'université d'Afrique du Sud (UNISA) (Pretoria, Afrique du Sud), au Lowe Museum of Art (Miami, E-U), au CCS Bard College Hessel Museum of Art (Annandale-On-Hudson, E-U), et dans diverses collections privées internationales.

M. Florine Demosthene

M. Florine Démosthène’s (born in the United States and raised between Port-au-Prince, Haiti and New York) works portray otherworldly dystopian characteristics through multi-media and collage. The combination of her figures considers the Black female body as a myriad of collective experiences beyond immediate interpretations based on sensuality. 

 

Démosthène’s work envelops flesh and form amongst evanescent backdrops and the use of mylar enhances the lack of permanence in the background, suggesting the figures are translucent and floating. The artist lures you into a phantasmagoric sphere with her sparkly surfaces and her amphibious marble-like figures often adorned with aquatic accents. Between reverie and reality, dream and nightmare, possibility and actuality, plunging the viewer into her intertwined almost science-fiction dimension. 

 

Démosthène is the recipient of a Tulsa Artist Fellowship, Arts Moves Africa Grant and a Joan Mitchell Foundation Grant. Her work can be seen at the Smithsonian National Museum of African Art (Washington D.C), University of South Africa (UNISA) (Pretoria, South Africa), Lowe Museum of Art (Miami, FL), the CCS Bard College Hessel Museum of Art (Annandale-On-Hudson, NY), and in various private collections worldwide.